Hunting News

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Tennessee Hunting Guide 2010

Several important changes were made to the hunting and trapping regulations for the 2009–2010 seasons. Several of the primary changes are:

• Fall deer and turkey quota permits will be distributed through a first-come, first served at license agents rather than the traditional draw system.

• Deer and fall turkey seasons were simplified:

–– All traditional season openers remain unchanged but muzzleloader

is now one continuous 14-day season in November

–– Fall turkey is one continuous 12-day season in December

• The raccoon units were consolidated so there is now consistent season and bags limits across the state.

• Two new WMAs were added: Skinner Mountain WMA in Fentress County and Luper Mountain WMA in Cumberland County.

• Elk hunting will resume in Tennessee again for the first time in over 150 years as a quota hunt on North Cumberland WMA will take place in October.

• Unit B deer seasons follow the same season dates as Units A and L.

• Annual buck limit is now three statewide which eliminates the two buck restriction in Unit B.

• Added Gibson county to fall turkey season and expanded fall turkey opportunities in Carroll, Clay, Henry, Madison , and Weakley counties.

• Increased deer hunting opportunities in Chester, Haywood, and Henderson Counties by moving these counties to Unit L.

• Increase gun antlerless deer opportunities in Crockett, Dyer, Hamilton, Hardin, Lake, Lauderdale, Marion, and Tipton counties.

• Hunters not able to find an open check station can now check-in their big game harvest through the internet at

• Regulations may vary for handgun carry permit holders.

More Information

No comments:

Post a Comment